Team D disqualified from Southeast Asia DPC open qualifiers

By Chelsea JackApril 9, 2021
Team D was disqualified from the Southeast Asia open qualifiers earlier today, April 9. Malay player Cheng "vtFαded" Jia Hao was also banned from competing in the DPC until after The International 10.
PGL made the announcement via Twitter earlier today. VtFaded had registered with Team Mystery, before competing with Team D in the second open qualifier for the Southeast Asia DPC. The OQ leads to a regional closed qualifier to fill the Lower Division of the second season of DPC.
Another member of Team D, ponlo, took to Twitter to provide the team's perspective:
At issue is the rule that states, "Teams can only drop players until the Tuesday after the end of the major, however, and after that point players can only be added." The SEA second OQ began after the drop period closed. In ponlo's post, he takes issue with the language of the rule, indicating an interpretation in which teams cannot kick players after April 6 (the Tuesday after the Major), but players can still choose to leave their teams.
The banning of vtFaded from play until after The International 10 is a bit vague as the event was delayed from 2020, and no official dates have been set.
Replacing Team D in the open qualifier was Team SMG, a stack including Yeik "MidOne" Nai Zheng, Neah666, Damien "kpii" Chok, Tue "ah fu" Soon Chuan, and MChai "Mushi" Yee Fung. They lost to Team D in the quarterfinals and then were reinstated in the competition when Team D received the DQ. SMG went on to win the remaining series in the OQ and take the qualifier slot.
Copyright 2020Elo Entertainment Inc.We're Hiring! Dota 2 is a registered trademark of Valve Corporation.